Posted by: worinld | February 11, 2008

Repulsion

I think I have a slightly better understanding of why culture hates Christianity.

So, the primary’s coming to Maryland finally. After all this hoopla, the candidates are in my city, a few blocks away from where I sleep, work, and worship. So, it’s exciting I guess. Early on in all of this, long before Iowa, I had heard of this Obama guy. He had started making covers of time magazine, and I was curious. so I went onto youtube and found his ’04 DNC speech, and I was left inspired. Truly, truly ispired (yes, i still get chills listening to it). My initial thoughts were that this is a man that can really lead a nation, far beyond what politics dictate a president should do.
So, early on, I thought he would be my man.

Then, came the fanatics. Here were people that believed in this man to such an intense and ridiculous measure that they would undoubtedly die for this man (and perhaps more practically) stake their reputation and hope over the next 4-8 years on ONE man. And they let it be known. And as days passed, they would continue to grow in their blind faith in this one candidate. And as their ferverency increases, the more disgusted I get, and the less I want to vote for a man who instills these feelings.

Years ago, I was a part of a ministry that had this fanatical passion for Jesus (these are my personal reflections from my experience). Now, I love passion, and I crave passion. I wish I could have more passion in my life. I wish that every word I say and every action I make could be more passion driven than I have right now. But looking back at that time, I see the passion that we were encouraged to carry as detrimental to the kingdom of God. To me, it was a fanatical passion that said, the world is against me, and I stand for God, so I’ll be more passionate (or more headstrong) in what I do. It displayed no humility in my faith and conviction. It showed little respect towards those who were impressed with different convictions as those in leadership. Ultimately, those on the outside, looking at us, did not see a people living with a passion for God that would be attractive. But rather, people saw us living with a passion for God that was repulsive. At that time, I couldn’t understand that. I thought people were hungry for passion (meaning, significance, and everything else that births passion). But I never could really understand what about the passion that I tried to carry wasn’t attractive. I could never really understand why they didn’t see what was so great about it. I guess that’s the problem with the lack of humility, and what is ultimately a blind faith.

I think I got a better glimpse of that over the past few months. Reminds me that as I desire to live more passionately for a man who died for me, I must remain humble before others in that passion. That as I speak to others in inspired passion, that I do not turn them away from the gospel.

Responses

  1. Thank you. I have thought that I was the only one who was freaked out by just how far people take their support of Obama. (I still voted for him, though. 😀 )

    I struggle with this all the time. The passion I display for Jesus is much less than what I display for BSG. But I truly don’t know how to display passion for something so important in a way that is respectful and attractive.

  2. worinld — Great thoughts. Early in my preaching life, my wife mentioned that I sounded angry whenever I preached. I was genuinely shocked — to me, it was passion but to everyone else it was just another guy stomping around and yelling.

    I definitely appreciate your insight into equating passion with fanaticism. In that mindset, whenever someone disagrees or tries to correct, it is just further proof of righteousness (“the world is against me,” as you mentioned).

  3. You know… I thought I was the only one who had these thoughts about senator obama…. interesting twist though, connecting it to the idea of passion and fanaticism


Leave a Reply

Categories

